englishvilla.blogg.se

Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities
Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities











mac unclutter pastebot best utilities
  1. #Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities mac#
  2. #Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities windows#

Thanks to HazeOver, macOS Big Sur is even more pleasing to my eyes. This utility automatically highlights the frontmost window by fading the ones in the background. One of the first utilities that I bought is HazeOver.

#Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities windows#

Tweaking windows appearence Third-party utilities galore to the rescueįor each utility in the following list, I’ll tag what areas and improvements are targeted. Now, let’s dig into my long list of third-party utilities that make a real difference. But, it wasn’t enough to undo Apple’s decisions. With those tweaks, macOS Big Sur started to grow on me. (I disagree, but I can see the counterargument.) Inarguably, they work far worse now - harder to use for people who use them, and much harder to discover for people who don’t yet know about them.” - John GruberJohn Gruber Exhibit A: What MacOS 11 Big Sur has done to document proxy icons. There’s a real sense that Apple’s current HI team, under Alan Dye, is a “design is what it looks like” group, not a “design is how it works” group. Not everyone is happy with Apple’s design choices for macOS Big Sur: ” I’m reminded of all the UI and interaction designs and changes in iOS and MacOS that are just bad. Alt-tab windows transparency is too high by default Adjusted window transparency for better contrast Next, I made the cursor bigger to make it easier to locate on my 4K screen. Next up was to turn off wallpaper tinting in windows. The first thing was to reduce transparency. After spending a few hours with it, I had to make three must-have visual tweaks. I think Apple isn’t showing us its best work here and broke basic design guidelines (Read “ UX Lessons from Big Sur”). What I don’t like is the general “too white user interface” feel of macOS, Big Sur appearance. I’m still undecided if I prefer the new toolbar look, the design and the spacing of the drop-down menu. I like the more rounded windows, the new dock.

#Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities mac#

I do like the idea of visual unification between the Mac and the iPad. My first moments with macOS Big Sur were more or less positive. macOS Big Sur and Monterey visual tweaks A clear regression in design: dialogue box Without further due, let’s start with some visual tweaks. As you’ll see later, the list of third-party utilities and extensions is quite long, and I have yet to see any slowing signs. With an M1-powered Mac, it’s no longer an issue, thanks to the M1 chip. One reason for this is the apparently slowly decreasing speed of the Mac while using too many system utilities.

mac unclutter pastebot best utilities

Up to the Mac mini’s arrival, my love affair with macOS was one based on a relatively plain experience. Let me tell you that I’ve never been a big fan of third-party utilities. But it quickly becomes apparent that my “basics” aren’t really that basic.”Jack Baty on Substack

mac unclutter pastebot best utilities

I tell myself I don’t need much, so it starts out with the basics. “An enjoyable thing about setting up a new computer from scratch is that I’m forced to decide which apps and settings and utilities I’m going to install. Many didn’t make the cut but quite a few made a first-time appearance. It was the right time to decide which application actually sitting on my iMac would be re-installed on my new Mac mini. I did not restore from a backup to set it up, instead, I chose to re-install all the applications, one by one. Here is my setup.Īpple’s macOS Big Sur came pre-installed on my M1 powered Mac mini last fall. When running on Apple Silicon-powered machines, with a few tweaks and the use of third-party utilities, you’ve got a much improved productivity-friendly desktop experience. They represent a turning point for the Mac (see “ My Top 5 iPadOS & iOS Apps for macOS Big Sur”). The macOS releases Big Sur and Monterey, are major overhauls of Apple’s oldest operating system platform.

  • 14 min read Portion of my Applications folder.












  • Mac unclutter pastebot best utilities